Skip to Content

Child of Wonder

Browse Catalog

SATB, Cello and Piano

Year of Composition



Meg Davies

Note from Composer

‘Child of Wonder’ is taken from The Sacred Veil: a 12-movement work that premiered with the Los Angeles Master Chorale in February 2019.

This piece is not yet published and therefore not available for performance.

The Text

Child of wonder
Child of sky
Time to end your voyage
Time to die.

Weary waters beckon
Dark and deep
Child of soft surrender
Child of sleep.

Child of sorrow
Child of rain
There is no tomorrow
No more pain.

Turn your silvered sails
Toward the light
Child of mourning
Child of night.

Child of iridescence
Child of dream
Stars and moons will guide you
Down the stream.

Stretched on ocean waves
Exchanging foam
Welcome home my child
Welcome home.